Research has shown that overeating is as harmful as smoking. Therefore, the advertising of certain food products should be banned in the same way as the advertising of cigarettes in some countries. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

While I understand that critics may see this as an invasion of free enterprise, I would argue AGAINST this phenomenon much more than support. I would argue that this holds such a compelling notion, and I personally support the idea of banning food publication. It is undeniable that the prohibition of some food products promotion helps tackle a few health problems, for example, obesity is a big threat to the young generation. TV advertising gives foodies more opportunities to keep them posted with the latest food products. This means that people tend to try new flavours and sometimes, they buy much more than they really need. As a result, they might get too much sugar and oil to get obese. What’s more, obesity might lead to other diseases, especially heart attacks. For example, forbidding Tim Tam biscuits contains a great amount of sugar which more likely helps to solve these problems. However, although overeating can truly affect our health, there is no evidence to show that the promotion of foods can cause food addiction since customers' choices are unchangeable due to advertising. As a matter of fact, a gato looks so scrumptious but foodies who hate sweets, might never consider buying it in the first place. Additionally, people have their own choice about their favourite food. Overeating any kind of food can also impact our bodies but this is not a reason to ban all promotions of foods. In conclusion, it is understandable why some may support food product advertising bans. However, I cannot support such a view given the aforementioned reasons.