Artists need a certain amount of freedom to develop their creativity. Some people think that artists should have total freedom to express any thoughts and ideas. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Art is an essential part of any civilization, through art people can express their thoughts and ideas. Therefore, some are arguing that artists should have total freedom to express them-self, on the other hand, some believe that their freedom should be restricted. In this, essay I will be discussing why in my opinion artists should have some sort of freedom but not complete freedom. To begin with, Art has the power to inspire, move and provoke people, art is the most powerful form of self-expression. The messages that artists deliver through their art is sometimes stronger than any words. The great American painter Edward Hopper once said "If I could say it in words there would be no reason to paint". Therefore, artists must have some kind of freedom to express them-self. complete censorship discourages creativity. Art is supposed to be a visual representation of someone's ideas and beliefs. Moreover, we can not ignore the impact that artists have on society and social issues. For instant Pablo Picasso's greatest work of art is Guernica which is an anti-war painting. That painting had helped bring attention to the Spanish civil war. This indeed is evidence that artists should have a room of freedom to express them-self. However, complete freedom could lead to many conflicts and problems within communities.There is a fine line between what consider self-expression and what consider disrespectful. Total freedom in artistic expression may lead some artists to mock certain religions or cultures. For,example when a Canadian artist mocked the headcover of a Muslim woman through one of her paintings she created conflict within the Muslim community and received a major backlash. In conclusion, Having some kind of freedom is a must for artists to express their true selves.,, However this freedom should be restricted and have boundaries when it comes to religion, culture and individual beliefs.