The first car appeared on British road 1888. By the year 2000 there may be as many as 29 million vehicles on British roads. Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws introduced to control car ownership and use. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Coupled with the swift development of the economy, the cities are also expanding rapidly. Owning a private vehicle is an integral part of our lives and the demand for cars is at an all-time high however fossil fuels becoming despairingly available. Limited car ownership and facilitation turn into a highly controversial issue. In my perspective, there is no need for such interventions as cars are necessary elements of our life. There is no doubt that more vehicles that consume fossil fuels on the road equal to further damage to the environment, and it plays a virtual role in the global warming we are facing in the day and age. However, I support alternative sources of energy, as opposed to limiting the production of cars. For instance, Tesla has launched new electric cars which can be safer, faster and more economical. Hence, everyone can own one without leaving a huge carbon footprint. Further concerned is some people claims that too many vehicles increase the burden of traffic in cities, leading the crowed cities more and more chaos. However, with proper normal senses, we can have societies where people maintain a balance between driving and other physical activities such as jogging or running. In addition,soaring gas prices are already deterring a lot of folks from unnecessary drives. Nonetheless, the issue of bustled city centres remains an issue worthy of attention. In conclusion, inventing car ownership and utilisation is more likely affect our daily commute. The regime should educate and encourage people to choose and use sustainable technology instead of depriving their choices.