The spread of urban areas has led to deforestation and has caused many animal species to become endangered. Environmental groups are urging governments to protect these animals. What are the benefits of protecting animals? What can governments do to protect animals?

The increase in deforestation brings adverse impacts to the sustainability of wildlife. Many species of animals become endangered, this condition gained attention from environmentalists and urge the government to take action on it. This essay will explain the advantage of protecting animals and what kind of action which the government can take. To begin, people often believe that protecting animals is very beneficial both for society and the environment. The animal is part of an ecosystem and plays an important role in balancing the natural life cycle process. Hence, if the animals are disappeared from this system, it will bring imbalance. On the other hand, when nature is balanced it will bring benefits for human life. For instance, snakes play role in maintaining life balance by preying mouse so their population will not explode and bring problems to the farmer, as a consequence the farmer will harvest a good quality and quantity of rice and there will no food shortage for citizens. Nevertheless, to achieve that kind of balance, we must ensure that the ecosystem is protected as well as the animal. There are many actions that the government can take to manage it. For example, the government can make rules to prohibit any kind of illegal wild hunting activities, send endangered species to rehabilitation and breeding them inside, control land-use change and deforestation, and last but not least, raise awareness to protect animals by using mass media campaigns. In conclusion, protecting animals will bring many advantages both for humans and the environment since it will balance the natural life cycle. However, the government must take serious action to protect the animals.