The use of social media is replacing face-to-face interaction among many people in society. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent years, as social network has infiltrated every corner of life, it comes as no surprise that virtual communication is replacing in-person meetings. From my perspective, the advantages that accompany this trend are more significant than its drawbacks. On the one hand, there is no doubt that social network has broken barriers of communication and taken it to a whole new level. Firstly, the availability of a wide range of social media platforms has multiplied the sheer number that people can interact with on a daily basis. For example, there are many people who have thousands of Facebook friends from different areas and countries, but they can easily keep in touch and interact with one another, without having to see each other in person. Secondly, digital media facilitates information transport in terms of working and education. According to a survey at Hanoi Medical University, the majority of students find it easier to access school notifications and news on the Facebook page, rather than on the official website or on the notice board. In addition, several digital media networks include group chats which not only aim to gossip with friends but also serve as a useful tool for teamwork among colleagues and classmates. On the other hand, the overuse of social media also comes along with several negative impacts on the public. To begin with, it has led to a decrease in face-to-face interaction which results in the lack of emotional connection as well as the degradation of social skills among many people. In fact, children who are exposed to digital media at early ages are more likely to be incapable of carrying on a regular conversation or expressing their emotions to others, which are two basic standards of humankind. Furthermore, social media users are being tracked by their personal information, posts or even conversations on their social accounts by marketing plans and cyber crimes. Many people are frequently bothered by spam calls or spam messages and more severely, some of them get scammed of money by cybercriminals. In conclusion, the widespread influence of social networks is a double-edged sword. It serves as a powerful communication medium, but society needs to take steps to minimize its drawbacks by limiting the number of hours spent on social media, in particular with children.