Nowadays, not enough students choose science subjects at university in many countries. What are the reasons for this problem? what are the effects on society?

There is a developing trend among students to refuse science -related subjects for their higher education. There are several reasons for this like, challenging and boring subject matures and unfortunately, this can give rise to future problems like limited scientists and limited science -related research. In the following essay, this writer wishes to elaborate further on this matter. To begin with, students have the option to select their future study subjects,relatively young ages like 15 and 16 years in most countries. As a result, most students get opine from their elder colleagues and parents even though some may take their own decision. Unfortunately, most comments on science subjects are negative like boring and tough to understand and as a result, most this young generation select much easier subjects like arts and economics. For instance, according to research conducted at the University of Canberra, Australia, 60% of students have chosen nonscience subjects for their future studies mainly due to bad comments on the internet for science. However, there will be some negative consequences for society due to this development since the number of science graduates spirals out. Unfortunately, there will be fewer scientists, fewer science teachers in the future and there will be few scientific researchers, compare to the current era. This damage will expand further if the number of doctors and medical researchers goes too low since this is one of the essential requirements of humans. For example, one of the famous professors in the Harward University recently stated that '' if there are fewer scientists and less research in the future,the extinction of the humans could be unavoidable''. In conclusion, students around the world try to avoid science -related subjects from their future studies due to various reasons like difficult subject matures and less free time. However, this development will lead to many drawbacks in the future like less manpower for the scientific researchers. Hence, this writer wishes to suggest the government study this matter further.