Due to the development and rapid expansion of supermarket in some countries, many small, local business are unable to compete. Some people think that the closure of local business will bring about the death of local communities. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include relevant examples form you knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, there are numerous developments such as supermarkets and malls where people are accustomed to going for shopping. Many people believe that because of these developments, the local vendors are unable to compete with the giant markets for the same reason that they caused the deaths of local people. For various reasons, I am convinced by the statement to a large extent. The main reason why I believe this idea is that, in most cases, large companies, which are managed as international businesses, usually try to maximise their profits without paying attention to local culture. Furthermore, they do not support cultural events and customs contrary to local businesses, and it is supposed to have negative impacts on the community. As per observation, many villages existed with their pure culture for thousands of years, whereas they have changed into modern villages since businesses there. In addition, the fact that the community vitally depends on the native people. As local businesses fail, more people leave the area in search of a better life elsewhere. In other words, native people have to leave their communities, although they are close to them. Many native people have abandoned their work in the village area and immigrated, which can be counted as a negative influence on the cultural situation. In conclusion, as it is a common belief that large companies ruin the local communities, I completely agree with this idea because it affects native people's work and culture. Given this situation, it seems that giving some support to local businesses by the government will be helpful.