Some people think that competitive sports have a positive effect on the education of teenagers while others argue that the effect is negative. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There is a belief that competition in sports have benefits on young people's education whilst other opinions state there might be downsides. There is no doubt over-competitiveness may cause several issues for teenagers but it also enhances their ambition and resilience towards the world. On one hand, there are those who agree on how powerful the effects of sport are in our daily perspective, as truly helps to perceive more self-security, strength, and willpower. That means, teenagers will be capable to develop an instinct that enables them to face this challenging world we now live in. Additionally, this “competitive mindset” encourages them to improve and pushes them forward. On the other hand, if this sense of competence is misunderstood in an unhealthy way, which basically means having a feeling of overpressure, troubles might appear. If they end up believing these games are a battle for power rather than a funny experience, the line has been crossed. Aggressivity has a big role to play and it is definitely the boundary when conflict and arguments arise. I personally believe that, if competitive sports are well-focused and planned, they should not be a big deal. I think before or after each training a speech should be given in order to prevent conflicts between them. Competitive and respect values that ensure peace and companionship are, without any doubt, essential lessons. To conclude, competitive sports could be either potentially useful or violent, the point is how we teach teenagers to practice them, and which principles are linked to it. It is probably true that, providing them an appropriate instruction, benefits could outweigh downsides.