The increase in the production and consumption of meat has resulted in damage to the natural environment. What are the causes of this? What can be done to solve this problem?

Although meat production is one of the most essential industries in human history, it has been seen as one of the major causes of harming the earth's environment as their production and consumption have increased these days. To address this problem, there are some procedures we can do, especially in terms of reviewing our practice of food intake and the method of farming and disposing of food. The main factor of environmental harm is that the production of meat is arguably accelerating greenhouse gas emissions. Firstly, greenhouse gases like CO2 and methane are generated from intensive livestock farming, including feeding cattle, preparing for the fields, and even the exhaling of ruminants. For example, Australia, one of the largest stock-farming countries in the world, is renowned as a substantial greenhouse gas emission country. Secondly, food wastes also create a huge amount of CO2, because disposing of such wastes requires burning them with fossil fuel. Furthermore, even in the process of burning them, CO2 is emitted. To tackle this problem, our practice of the consumption of meat should be under review. Firstly, we should reduce food waste by avoiding unnecessary food purchases. Moreover, while meat is an inevitable source of protein for humans, we can balance meat and other proteins, including fish and plant-based ones. At the same time, governmental intervention should be considered. For instance, governments can incentivize sustainable farming to farmers instead of conventional farming with subsidies. Restricting disposal ways and encouraging the use of alternative energy are also efficient. In conclusion, to tackle this global issue, we can assess our practice concerned with the consumption of meat to reduce extra production and food waste. Additionally, it is essential for governments to control farming and disposal methods to ease greenhouse gas emissions from the production of meat.