Rich people are getting richer, and poor people are getting poorer. The gap between rich and poor people is widening. What problems can the situation cause? What can be done to reduce this gap?

Poverty is certainly a worrying challenge for most of the countries, especially at a time of economic instability and social unrest. Poverty is the condition in which rich people get richer and poor people get poorer. This gap between the rich and poor is mainly responsible for poverty. Inequality is the key factor that causes poverty. However, this is not the only factor of concern, there are a range of equally pressing matters that affect and cause poverty. To start with, it is extremely popular among the rich in society to show off their wealth which can be in the form of luxury cars, billion dollar houses, education facilities from abroad and much more. In other words, rich people invest money to get richer however in contrast poor people due to lack of money get poorer therefore the gap between rich and poor increases. Poor people face enormous problems such as unemployment. Primary reason for their joblessness is lack of educational facilities. Being poor they are not able to pay high rising schooling fees which in turn leads to unemployment. Real estate prices in cities and towns are ever-increasing which is not affordable by the poor society and hence they are usually found living on streets. However, if the government focuses on how to reduce the gap between the rich and poor it can create proper wealth distribution. Government can charge the rich society in the form of taxation. There should be a variety of taxes imposed such as housing tax, property tax, food tax and clothes tax. For instance if the rich people purchase a property or plan to have an expensive dinner at a boutique restaurant or buy expensive jewellery then they are inclined to pay a particular amount to the government in form of government tax. Thus the additional money in form of tax paid by the rich gets distributed to the poor by the government to fulfil their basic needs such as food, clothes and shelter. To summarise, the problem of gap between the rich and poor will increase if the government does not take a strict action to equally distribute the income and expenditure of money between the poor and the rich. This gap is not only harmful on an individual level but also at the national level since if the number of poor people increases it may lead to poverty and the rich might brain drain the country.