Some people say that music is a good way of bringing people of different cultures and ages together. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Certain individuals opine that music is a better way of harmonising people of different generations and traditions. Personally, I agree because it accords people a chance to communicate with one another and sympathise with the challenges that others face. First and foremost, the rhythm of songs can be understood by anyone regardless of nationality and age thus bringing about a formal way of communication. In other words, music is the only universal language and a way of communication that the masses can understand because it involves emotions. Since everyone has feelings, music is able to stimulate them for the better and enable all listeners of various age groups and cultural settings to be of one accord both emotionally and physically. Take, for example, love songs that are produced the world over, because they heighten feelings of people from all walks of life, they bring people together. This in itself shows how music brings about people of different ages and cultures. Secondly, due to its diversity, music brings people together. To put this in perspective, the differences in many cultures makes it possible for people to learn about other cultures as well as the challenges they face. The same goes for the various age groups where, because many people sing about their various problems affecting them, it helps other people of a different age to understand them and even sympathise with them. For example, the songs that originate from Africa speak of the challenges Africans of different ages face and how they opt to resolve them. This helps listeners from other cultures to fully grasp their challenges and even draw them closer to such people. All in all, music enables others to understand the challenges of different cultures and ages and this results in unity as others become aware of the problems of mankind in general. By way of conclusion, I reaffirm my position that music brings about harmony among people of various age groups and cultures because it is a formal way of communicating and a way of expressing the challenges that others face. Therefore, because people communicate and sympathise with each other, it stimulates their emotions and brings them closer.