Nowadays, many people choose to be self-employed rather than work for a company or organization. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

In recent times, some folks have shown interest in establishing their own businesses, instead of searching for a position in several firms. Although, a major downside of managing one's office is the lack of reliable people to work with, the choice is however driven by the need for convenience. On the one hand, some individuals usually opt for the ownership of a personal outfit and the reason is because they want to be in control. In other words, it is convenient for them to be able to run the company on their own terms, without having to take instructions from the manager. Moreover, they may decide to change the brand at will and avoid going through the delays normally seen in puplic organizations. For example, recently my friend had to resign his position in a government office to set up his own factory. Incidentally, his reason was that his previous schedule used to affect his family life and it was beyond his control. On the other hand, a major downside of being a business owner is the lack of reliable employees to handle specific task. Consequently, many industries have been ruined because of the poor attitude of staff to customers. Furthermore, some front desk officers may lack basic social skills, this can make them to be in conflict with potential customers and this will ultimately affect the revenue of the place. For example, some years ago, a major privately owned hospitality industry in my state folded up because of disrespectful waiters who were in the habit of begging visitors for a tip. This affected the profit of the firm because many users stopped patronizing the club. In conclusion, many youngsters have the desire to register and manage their own agencies because it is less stressful and easy. However, being self- empolyed employee is associated with the problem of lack of committed persons to work with.