The crime rate nowadays is decreasing compared to the past due to advances in technology which can prevent and solve crime. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The advancement of technology in criminology help to reduce the rate of criminal events recently. This is due to the technology that can prevent and solve the crime at a faster pace. In this essay, I will discuss why I completely agree with this notion. First, new technology in criminology aids the police investigators to investigate the evidence. Back in the 1960s, there are a lot of cold cases that could not be solved because of the lack of evidence. Moreover, some of the evidence could not be presented in the court since the technology at that time was not advanced enough to process the evidence. For example, there were several cases that the perpetrator could get away for a couple of years before finally being caught and put in jail. This situation happened because the technology was incapable to process the DNAs or fingerprints back in the past. However, this evidence is actually valid after being processed in the next decade. Next, the current technology allows police to track down the suspects through installed CCTV in several corners of the city. This new technology help police officers capture the face or body characteristics of the suspects if they got caught inside the CCTVS. These CCTVs usually operate 24/7 and the files are stored in the police database. So, the police officers could immediately access them to know the identity of the suspect. For instance, the South Korean detectives were faced with difficulties capturing the suspect of serial killer cases because there were no witnesses that could help the investigation. Nonetheless, nowadays South Korea has become one of the countries with the most CCTVs operating 24/7. This means the crime rate in this country also has decreased within the last 15 years. In conclusion, the advancement of technology has helped people to overcome difficulties that they encountered back in the past. One of the benefits of this phenomenon is helping the work of detectives and criminal investigators to solve hard cases in more convenient and effective ways. This also could help to push down the rate of crimes in a country and bring peace to the civilians.