Friendships can be very meaningful and special, but also very complicated. What are the qualities of a great friend? What are some things that can weaken a close relationship over time?

It is often thought that people have three true friends during their lifetime that they share with them moments, ideology, and secrets. This essay dissects the characteristics of a true friend, and what are the things that could dampen that bond. There are several traits that indicate that someone has a great mate, and one of them is understanding. From my point of view, I believe that it is the core of any relationship between a father and a son, a husband and a wife, and even a teacher and a student. By establishing understanding individuals would protect their relationship from misconception. Moreover, it is crucial for a great friend to be supportive, and that takes different forms such as supporting someone to pursue their higher education. For example, many people had manifested their dreams, goals, and visions because of the support they took from their friends. On the other hand, there are various behaviours that could dampen any relationship, and the first one is dishonesty. Many people hate those who are not honest with them, and this is because it means that another person is not trusting you, and believes that you do not accept them; therefore, they lie, make excuses, and wear a mask. Many psychologists believe that one of the reasons why people get divorced is dishonesty. Also, the second act that could marginalize a bond is manipulation. For instance, manipulators do not care about other human beings, they care about their image, wants, and sense of control. In conclusion, many individuals assess friendship differently, and everyone has their own view about what are the characteristics of a true mate, and what are acts could weaken it. Given the above situation, I urge everyone to be honest, supportive, and loyal with their true friend.