In some places, old age is valued, while in other cultures youth is considered more important. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

All countries across the world value the age groups differently, some cultures give more value to the older population, while the others give importance to the younger generation. In my opinion, the youth of any country is considered to be the future of the economy and should be valued more, however, this essay will discuss both sides of the idea. There are three reasons why it could be argued that the elder people are more valued over the younger generation. Firstly, these individuals have witnessed multiple phases of life, as a result, they have a calmer approach to life as compared to the other group of individuals. Secondly, they come up with a lot of experience in handling multiple tasks, thereby having the ability to deal with situations more smartly as compared to the younger age group. Lastly, since they come from a less technologically advanced generation, they tend to give more importance to physical wellbeing. For example, as per an article from Times magazine, four out of five people in the age bracket of 35 - 50 years have a well-defined fitness regime. On the other hand, two out of five individuals belonging to the age group of 18 - 35 years consider physical wellbeing as important. On the contrary, the youth of any country plays a crucial role in the growth of the economy. This group is more technologically advanced as compared to the older age group, hence, they believe in the concept of smart working as compared to hard working. Hence, they have the potential to use time more efficiently and productively. Furthermore, growing up in the world of social media has forced them to be more creative and innovative in everything they do. For instance, as a young entrepreneur, an individual would have to come up with out-of-the-box solutions to build a successful company. In conclusion, while both age groups have their own advantages, it is important that the government invests resources in developing the youth of the country, as they would help take the economy to the next level.