Some people think it’s better to choose friends who always have the same opinions as them. Other people believe it’s good to have friends who sometimes disagree with them. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Friendship is a beautiful asset to our lives. A section of society believes in finding friends who always agree with the viewpoint of each other whereas many people opine that it is better to have friends who show disagreements occasionally. While both views are worth discussing, in my opinion friends with different perspective on a subject can sometimes help us to make better decisions. I will discuss the merits of having friends who always agree with us and who sometimes disagree in the following paragraphs. To begin with, some people like friends who have the same opinions as them because they think this is beneficial for the friendship. To cite an example, friends who are like-minded, share similar sentiments and having same outlooks, can maintain a lifelong relationship. A study shows that, relationships with less quarrels and disagreement persist longer than the ones with differences. On the contrary, a few people think that friends should have different opinions sometimes as it maintains honesty in friendships. To substantiate, if two friends have different thoughts on a situation, it is useful to analyze both point of views because, if one idea fails, there always would be a back up Join the words backup show examples. A recent research conducted by the Cambridge University shows that, if people are aware of the negative and positive sides of something, they tend to be in a win-win situation. To conclude, having friends with similar thoughts lead to fewer conflicts, whereas disagreements in friendships sometimes help to judge a situation from a different perspective.