Some people believe that family is more important than friends. What do you think?

Family is one of the social institutions recognized by every culture for the preservation of mankind. Although some folks may think otherwise, the significance of this blood-line relationship interms of serving as the first means of socialization and providing support to the children can not be overemphasized. Hence, I think kindreds and one's relatives are more relevant than associates. To begin with, the home is the very first avenue for a child to develop some social skills. From the birth of a baby, the parents and sibblings will always be providing special care to the infant. Consequently, the child will learn how to smile, talk and even show appreciation through these members of the home who were alway close by. Furthermore, the parents will be available to guide and direct the toddler as well as teach him about the norms and moral values of the community. As a result, youngsters will grow up to become responsible citizens. Certainly, this responsibility can not be handled by colleagues. In addition, people of the same stock are always available to provide for their loved ones. In other words, in the absence of parents for instance, uncles and aunts can take up the responsibility for providing for their nephews and nieces. Thus family members will always be there for each other in times of trouble, providing both emotional and physical support as the need arises. For example, my friend of many years now lost his parents when he was barely two years old. Fortunately, his uncle took over his care and supported him until he graduated from the university. In conclusion, I think our parents and relatives are more significant than our associates. This is because the home provides one with all the comfort needed to grow responsibly and to achieve one's potentials even as an adult.