In some places, old age is valued, while in other cultures youth is considered more important. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Different cultures see the importance of people based on their age group; in some areas, elder adults are considered more important whereas,in others, youngsters are seen as more valuable. I personally believe that both the age groups have their own importance based on their difference in wisdom, knowledge, experience, physical strength, skills, and energy. The upcoming paragraphs will discuss both views in detail with related examples. Firstly, old age people have more professional as well as personal life experiences as compared to young adults. In professional fields, old people have worked their entire lives and had encountered numerous stressful situations in their work while working. Consequently, they are more experienced and knowledgeable to deal with such situations. For instance, my young co-workers at the health care facility where I work seek assistance during the COVID pandemic from one of my retiring senior co-workers, who dealt with a similar situation during the SARS pandemic in the previous years. Additionally, old people have valuable personal life experience and skills which they can teach to the young family members. To exemplify, in India, in family conflicts, people seek advice from elder family members because they are considered to have more wisdom and experience to deal with such issues. Therefore, in many cultures old people are seen as more valuable as they can teach and guide the young adults of the society. On the other hand, youngsters are considered as the most important age group in some cultures because they make up the major workforce of the countries. Moreover, they are more energetic, active, and physically strong as compared to the old people. As a result, they are considered more productive as the workplaces which require physical stamina and strength to work such as factories, manufacturing units, and warehouses. Furthermore, young adults have more technical skills as compared to old adults. They have more knowledge and skills to use technologically advanced equipment used in contemporary workplaces. Therefore, in today’s era of technology, workplaces consider young adults as more important because of their up-to-date skills to operate various high-tech equipment. In conclusion, although youngsters have more physical strength, energy, and knowledge about various technological revolutions, the experience and wisdom that old adults possess are invaluable. In my opinion, both the age groups have their own areas of expertise, hence both the generations should be considered equally important.