Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. to what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that many trending household needs are sold rather than the primary needs because of the good promotion. I completely agree with this by the reason of many people are attracted to buy the stuff that have many promotions and have a good visual product although it is not necessary to buy. First of all, most people always want to get the cheapest price and contain an extra bonus when they buy the products. No doubt, it is one of the marketing strategies that many companies are done to attract more customers. Taking household products as an example, dish and liquid detergent products usually have an advertising technic such as buy one get one plus eating set as a bonus. Of course, many housewives want to buy it due to its cheaper price and extra bonus. On the other hand, to get more buyers, companies usually make beautiful packaging and colours as another way to attract specific customers. This will lead many people to buy the products even though they do not need the products. For instance, women's products usually have a cute design with a bright colour, mostly pink colour. As a result, the products that have no eye-catching design have the least buyers even though the quality of the products is better. This is why a promotion and marketing plan is really important to get higher sales. To conclude, I believe that the power of advertising has a big impact on the consumer behaviour to buy the products although the products are not their primary needs.