Some people think that government is responsible for the rise in obesity in children. Do you agree or disagree?

Few individuals contend that the lack of government interest in young ones’ health is a major reason for childhood obesity. There are many arguments in the favour of the above idea but I believe that it is a collective responsibility of governments, parents and children rather than only authorities. To begin with,there are a few duties of authorities to prevent obesity in young ones. As administrations can ban certain edible items in the market on the recommendations of experts such as unhealthy edible oils and food colours. Moreover, governments can promote healthy activities in society by developing parks and playgrounds, for example, most children have become couch potatoes because of the lack of outdoor facilities. Furthermore, health authorities are not running enough awareness campaigns to educate people about the hazards of being overweight. On the contrary, guardians, and teachers are equally responsible. First and foremost, as the food of children is monitored and prepared by parents due to their busy schedules, they are not able to provide them with home cooked diet and they rely on ready-made food. Secondly, school teachers do not emphasize the importance of maintaining the ideal body weight and put more stress on the curriculum to gain good grades which indirectly depict the teachers’ performance. Last but not the least, young ones use modern gadgets to entertain themselves in spite of doing outdoor physical activities where they can burn extra calories. In conclusion, even though the government have a pivotal role to combat childhood obesity, the whole responsibility cannot be put on it. It is the need of the hour to run an efficient awareness campaign to defeat this major health issue.