In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Nowadays, health issues are becoming more and more serious due to overconsumption of fast food. Hence, some people consider that levying a higher tax on such food is essential. I generally disagree that this approach can effectively decline consumption without having an adverse reaction from the whole society. One reason is that increasing tax on high calories food is unlikely to reduce its popularity. Most people consume it despite being aware of its unhealthiness and the consequences. However, fast food might be the only choice for those who are constantly struggling to make a living. In contrast to the heavy cost and time-taking healthy food, this food often has a more affordable price and are more accessible. On the other hand, affluent buyers can still contribute to the convenience food intake since the raising tax may have little impact on them. Another reason is that raising taxes on food is a deprivation of human rights. In general, natural rights include having the freedom to choose, so individuals should be able to eat whatever they what, regardless of whether positive or negative effect it might bring. Furthermore, imposing additional tax specifically on fast food is unfair for competition among food industries. Particularly Increase levy on unhealthy food give rise to higher costs and fewer customers, which is unfair for those companies to compete with other food companies. In conclusion, raising the tax on convenience food not only have no impact on fast food consumption but also makes low-income groups live a harsher life. Along with these drawbacks, this action is an injustice for both customers and companies, removing the freedom of meal choice and fairness of business contests, and thus it is possible to cause a public backlash.