Some people think that the best way to motivate and encourage people is to pay according to their work. Do you agree or disagree?

There is no shortage of opinion that every work should be paid. In my opinion, a payment system based on the work done by a person, makes him motivated in his job. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following paragraphs. First and foremost, being paid according to the job done makes a person more committed to the job. Many corporate companies often underpay their employees, this makes the staff more uncomfortable. Evidently, this can lead to dissatisfaction, which in turn increases staff attrition. A fair salary system increases the self-confidence of the people and can increase loyalty towards the work and the organization. My personal experience is a great example of this. When I was employed in a pharma company, I often felt that I was less paid for my work. As a result, I was overwhelmed and stressed out. This eventually, led to my resignation. But, when I moved to the next organization, I was paid well and I became the best performer of the year. I am sure that, if I was paid well for my work in the previous institution, I would not have left it. Secondly, this type of payment system can increase our productivity. In particular, as the earning increases with the task completed, there will an increased urge to finish more work. Obviously, this can raise the target levels and this, in turn, increases the productive hours and productivity. Drawing from the professional experience of my wife, working for a software company as a data coder, is paid based on the number of projects she is completing in a month. Moreover, she is getting additional benefits for each project completed apart from her basic target. So, she works tirelessly for the company with the same enthusiasm even during the weekends. I am sure that, if she is not paid for the additional effort, she will feel demotivated and will not take up new assignments. In conclusion, I am of the opinion that everybody should be paid according to the work done. This is because it increases productivity and makes the employees more committed to their job.