Computers are becoming an essential part of education. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Education has always been the foundation for the advancement of human civilization since the dawn of time, and technology nowadays has become an essential part of our modern world. It is argued that computer-based learning is becoming an essential part of teaching for both learners and educators alike, and I completely agree with this notion. Online teaching which relies on computers as the main tool of communication has proven to be critical to the continuity of the learning journey, especially during the recent COVID-19 pandemic where schools have been forced to shut down. Advanced tools, like Microsoft Teams among many others, allowed teachers to utilize advanced audio and video capabilities to connect with students, replicating the feeling of a classroom. This also allowed students to engage and interact with their classmates which were very important for the younger ones. On the other hand, the ever-evolving job market has fueled the demand for continued lifelong learning. Nowadays, employees who are looking to refresh or learn new skills to advance their careers can enrol in a myriad of online courses offered by reputable universities at a very low cost. On top of that, these courses are often pre-recorded and available any time which is very important for those who are working on a fixed hourly schedule. A proof of the success of this domain has pushed platforms like edx.org, an initiative by MIT and Harvard that offers online short courses, to offer accredited micro masters degrees and fully personalized undergraduate and graduate online degrees. In conclusion, the demand for online and personalized learning will only continue to increase, ushering in a new era for the importance of technology in the education sector.