In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing populations.

Life expectancy is one of the characteristics of the development of countries. Nowadays, there is no doubt that average life expectancy is showing an increase. Nevertheless, having a long time of life does not always bring positive impacts. This essay will highlight the possible problems and the way some solutions could be taken into account. Upon a closer look, current research of Harvard School of Public Health published that 70% of elderly people are living an unhappy life. Moreover, their retirement ages do not allow them to be productive, let alone be a 9-to-5 worker anymore. Nowadays, the next generation of those elderly people is busy with their own business and handling their burden in the hustle-bustle city. It makes them have a lack of time to prioritize their parents. Meanwhile, people in their ageing time needs more attention and it makes them to be more dependent. Besides, having little activities can also make them stressed compared to their busyness in their employment age. Moreover, their low power in economy strengthens the dependency ratio of elderly people. At the end, it produces more sandwich generation. Facing these serious issues, I believe government should contribute more to solve these matters. In one side, the presence of community for elderly people could help them to overcome their stressed. On the other side, the pension allowance should be a mandatory to be prepared through a national programme. Within a community, aged people could overcome their stresses as they are on this together, it supports each other emotionally. In addition, government should provide the paramedics to maintain their health. National programme on pension allowance should makes employers pay the allowance in monthly basis and deduct the employee portion as they are also responsible for preparing their pension. In conclusion, even though ageing populations cause several problems, such challenges can be resolved with careful planning.