In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centers or malls to do their shipping. Is this a positive or a negative development?

Recently, there is a new trend of consumer behaviour, that is clients choose to go shopping in shopping centres, instead of selecting the traditional shop. It will lead to many small local shops closing down. Nevertheless, the development of consumer behaviour is in positive affairs. In this essay, I will explain, why it is a positive development from the customer's point of view. Firstly, it is more convenient for customers to park in large shopping centres than in local shops. Because there are plenty of free parking spaces available for their customer, therefore they can save money from the parking fee that may occur if they park their car on the street. Secondly, there are various stores selling their product in the plaza. That is to say, people can purchase everything from their shopping list by going to the same place. For example, the global mall is consisting of many international and domestic brands, and those brands have a stronger connection with our daily life. Malls are selling goods for daily consumption, fresh products as well as entertainment products. Furthermore, there is an unexpected benefit as a result of the local shops which closed. To explain, the signboard of the local shop will no longer exist on the street and it will look more consistent with the street view. For example, from the tour industry aspect, the overall view of the city is considered as an attractive factor for tourist to select their destination. In conclusion, the development model of shopping centres and malls brought well convenience for people in modern society, at the same time it is also a symbol of a growing economic nation.