In past the role of teacher was to provide information. Today, students have access to wide sources of information. There is, therefore, no role of teacher in modern education. Do you agree or disagree

The way we acquire knowledge has significantly changed over a couple of decades. In recent time, a vast amount of information is readily accessible to students. That is why it is argued that teachers are not necessary in modern education. I firmly disagree with this statement and will explain why they are still needed in the classroom and why technology has its limits when it comes to teaching. Certainly, educators have always been, and will continue to be a vital piece of the learning process of each pupil. First of all, they help the younger generation to become more disciplined and responsible in school, which can not be done by a mere computer. Not only that, educators are role models to these students and encourage them to become better people in the future. Thus, these people are important and should not be discarded. In addition, the advanced technology and its contribution to the learning system has its boundaries. To explain, the source of information everyone is getting from the Internet is undoubtedly useful and has made the life of a student so much easier than that of the past. However, these modes of information transfer are not always reliable and it has been proven that the sources of data can be clouded and misleading. With this thought in mind, even though modern technology is a great tool in teaching, it has its flaws that we should be mindful of. To conclude, although the advance machinery provides a huge source of information to our students, it has its limitation and it will not be able to replace the role of teachers in the classroom and will continue to remain the same in the future.