In some places, old age is valued, while in other cultures youth is considered more important. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In the contemporary epoch, there always seems to be a debate on the values of both older and younger generations. Many cultures give undue emphasis on the elders, while the others consider the young bloodline as the future. In this essay, I will be discussing both views, taking examples of Indian culture and providing the reasons for my perception. On the one hand, Indian traditions believe that the seniors of the society have imperative wisdom to impart. In addition, Indians always have been living in a joint family where everyone functions according to the elder’s accord. Moreover, various soap operas have been built over the years on the same logic. To exemplify, Pandiya store is a television serial aired on Starplus, which focuses on the pious and modest daughter-in-law who always abides by her mother-in-law who apparently, is the head of the household. Furthermore, Bagwan is an extremely popular Indian movie, which enables people to contemplate the importance of ancestors and older parents. On the other hand, westernisation has affected India as a whole. In particular, the youth of the modern generation is unknown of the idea of kinship. In addition, in metro cities, the majority of people stay in nuclear families. To give a clear example, most of the western series depicts the same concept, i.e., at a certain age, the child moves on with their lives, taking and making their own decisions strictly based on their judgements without much interference from their grandpas, grandmas or immediate father or mother. Also, many a time, the economical growth, in developing countries leads to discarding the old. For example, in the present era, care homes are on the rise and therefore, those who can afford it, forcefully send the elders of the household to be taken care of there. To conclude, India is culturally rich and has always respected its ancestors. However, these days, it is sort of declining and there are various reasons catering to it, such as the influence of the west, wealth and moral degradation. Thus, in my,opinion striking a balance is necessary as not only will it lead to preserve our essence but also help us to adapt to the new grounds of today.