Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

Despite the drawbacks offered by industrial foods and beverages containing high amount of sugar, those sugary products unstoppably have been being consumed by people. Increasing the price is considered as the effective way to avoid people from consuming too much sugary food and drink. However, this statement has no proof to be the best solution to that case. Therefore, I do not agree with that by some following reasons. First and foremost, making sugary products more expensive may be not impactful since it is unable to stop the addiction and alter the people ’s perception towards expensive items. Sugary foods and beverages processed in industries are often found addictive. By making them less affordable it doesn’t mean that the addicted consumers will stop buying them. On the other hand, a lot of buyers assume that the higher the price of foods, the more prestigious they are. For instance, the processed chocolate products containing much sugar that are sold with high price are considerably hunted by many people since it is seen as the luxury items. In contrast to that, some more applicable approaches can be the effective ways reducing the sugary products consumption. First, implementing a particular regulation that imposes the manufacturers to produce less- sugar foods and beverages is much more impactful. By doing this, sugar content in foods and beverages can be controlled. It can be done also by replacing the chemical-processed sweeteners with the natural ones produced from fruits such as corns that are proven to be healthier. Second, massive campaigns about the drawbacks obtained by consuming too much sugar are required to raise peoples’ awareness. In a nutshell, making the sugary products less affordable is not the best solution to drive people to less- sugar consumption habit. Limiting sweetener content in industrial foods and beverages along with enormous campaigns about some bad impacts of eating too much sugary foods are more approachable.