In the future all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these vehicles will be passengers. Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that the development of driverless has a remarkable improvement in recent years and we will be able to experience scenes that only passengers in running cars showed in science fiction movies. The experience has some advantages in personal and social aspects, while the disadvantages should not be ignored. To start with, automatic driving helps to improve efficiency. For instance, when businessmen are on the way to the office, it allows them to address other issues simultaneously, like making phone calls, attending video conferences, sending E-mails. In addition, operators can have a rest on their journey to avoid being tired and the traffic accidents caused by tired drivers are able to decline dramatically. Moreover, it enables companies to find an effective solution and reduce the risks in some sectors which are dangerous for workers, like logistics. However, there are some drawbacks to automatic driving. Firstly, without a well-trained operator, passengers are exposed to the threat. For example, when the artificial intelligence(AI) system on a car was crashed, if the car could not be taken over by humans in Standard Operating Procedures (SOP), passengers might be harmed by accidents. Secondly, employees related to the area of driving and service may lose their job opportunities in the new trend, which will lead to a heavy burden for society. Finally, if the new technology were widely applied, the old vehicles that are not suitable for it anymore have to be abandoned, which may cause damages to the environment. In conclusion, although applying the high technology of driverless offers several benefits, the drawbacks should be concerned.