Many people say that human society has developed into a throw-away society, which is filled with plastic bags and rubbish. What are the causes and solutions?

The Introduction of plastic in world commerce has turned mankind into a throw-away culture. This essay will discuss the main causes of its consumption including cost-effectiveness and ignorance among people. This essay will also suggest some possible solutions including the use of eco-friendly materials and the promotion of general awareness. High strength and low cost of material have prompted people to include plastics in their daily life without considering their long term effects. Because of their non-biodegradable nature, these materials have made their ubiquitous presence in the market be it medicine, space or the food industry. For instance, plastic bags and food wrappers have a lifespan of mere minutes to hours but persist in the environment for years. As a result, plastic has become a major contributor to trash across the globe. However, limiting the use of synthetic material and promoting awareness programmes could help in mitigating this issue. People should be encouraged to replace polymer bags with recycled materials. For example, the implementation of schemes promoting the use of paper bags and inspiring the locals to refrain from using plastics are a few steps that the governments could take to invigorate people to join hands in this fight. Therefore, it is impeccable for both the government and individuals to understand the seriousness of this problem. In conclusion, the conveniences plastics offer have led to a throw-away culture that reveals the dark side of the material. This essay discussed how the use of non-recycled materials could be a threat to the environment. This essay also suggested some possible solutions like awareness among people promoting the use of eco-friendly material.