Governments in many countries have recently introduced special taxes on food and beverages with high levels of sugar. Some think these taxes are good idea while others disagree. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Nowadays, the issue of charging extra taxes on sugary products has stirred up a number of heated debates among people of different opinions as some people come up with the idea that taxes bring many benefits to the society, nonetheless, others disagree with that assertation. Therefore, the arguments on both sides of this controversial issues will be discussed in the following paragraphs in turn, and finally my opinion will be given. On the one hand, some opponents are quick to point out that paying high taxes could financially affect on their business. First of all, as they have to pay extra money to government, they would no longer sell their goods in former prices, and consequently, consumers are overcharged. As a result of this, if the customers switch their tastes to other cheaper substitutes, companies’ income will not be met aimed target. Therefore, employees would finally face redundancy problems. These are the reasons of people who only prioritize profit. the other hand, other proponents have also expressed that initiating specific taxes could bring many benefits to society. Firstly, production businesses become aware of input sugar levels, and consider to produce in health-conscious ways. Another positive aspect is that it is somehow of hindering unhealthy products to the market. Many studies have been proved that, in America, people become suffering obesity and diabetes by taking in large amount of sugar. Moreover, consumers face low metabolism rate, then got stress and depression in daily lives. So, from the medical point of view, it is such a best way to make particular taxes. Having both sides of arguments considered, I believe that as health is the primary concern in everyone’s lives, companies should be obliged to pay taxes to government.