Students perform better in school when they are rewarded rather than punished. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a growing opine among the general population, that youngsters will study well when they are rewarded rather than punished. Since the majority of students are stimulated with encouragement and they tend to be depressed with punishing, this writer is in complete agreement with the given notion In the following essay, this writer wishes to further elaborate on this. To begin with, most teachers and parents, try to get the best out of their students by using various methods. Although some may stimulate them by giving even a small thing when they are doing good things,most parents and teachers just ignore them. However, by doing this small thing, they stimulate to think and perform well in the future. For instance, research published by Oxford University has found that students tend to perform well in exams when they are rewarded for previous achievements than those who are not rewarded. At the same time, Punishments may affect more negatively on students since it may lead to embarrassment and depression. Unfortunately, most teachers and parents tend to punish their students in front of a large crowd even for small mistakes and most colleagues of that students then may try to bully the student. As a result, youngsters could develop anger towards society and some may even develop depression. For example, according to a paper article in "The Hindu'', there are about 180 suicide cases of youngsters below 15Y in Tamilnadu during last year and,the main cause has been found as depression. In conclusion, even though teachers and parents tend to punish their children with good purpose, most of the children will suffer due to its effects while students who get rewards tend to do good for the rest of their life. Hence this writer opines that parents and teachers should change from punishments to rewards if they really want to correct their children.