It is a commonly held belief that the death penalty is a good deterrent to prevent heinous crimes. However, others believe that life long sentence is a better deterrent. Discuss both views.

The death penalty is often believed to be an effective punishment to serious crimes. Others, on the other hand, believe that a life sentence is a more effective preventive. Let’s discuss about the both views in detail to know about them. In terms of the first opinion, we could argue that death is the worst possible outcome. So, in a country where death penalty is lawful, people would not do crimes. On the one hand, some citizens believe that the greatest approach to avoid barbarous actions is to execute them. To begin with, the crime committed is too serious to be condoned in society, and as a result, there should be some consequences. Secondly, many criminals may think twice before committing an offence, resulting in a reduction in community crime. Despite popular opinion, some believe that the contrary is true. Some argue that imposing severe prison sentences is a more effective defense in tackling this problem. In other words, the punishment should be based on the offence, because some criminal activities are more serious than others. Furthermore, while doing time in prison, the perpetrator feels sorry for their actions. For example, according to judicial system by an integral factor in India, wrongdoers in India feel bad for the course of their life sentence in prison. To conclude, crime is increasing at an alarming rate over the world. This essay explained why the death penalty is an effective deterrent for committing horrific crimes and why a life sentence is ultimately superior.