Some people think that the best way to run a business is within the family. What are the advantages and disadvantages of a family-run business?

In recent years family-owned businesses had become quite popular. some believe that it is the most suitable way to run a business, while others disagree with them. In this, essay I will be discussing both the pros and the cons of this approach. To begin with, the cardinal advantage of a family-run business is loyalty and integrity It is an undeniable fact that family members trust each other and always will have each other back and also decisions will be made based on what benefits the whole family. Moreover, the work schedule will be more flexible. For,instance if a family member is full- time student his or her schedule could be adjusted in a way that will suit them. Furthermore, the work atmosphere will be more relaxed since everyone is related. And last but not least, The business could be passed down to future generations.A perfect example is THE WALMART family which owns Walmart hypermarkets that were founded in 1962 and the business had passed down to the future generation. However, we can not ignore the many drawbacks that come with a family-owned owned business. Firstly, not all family members will have the vision or aim for the company. Therefore, this will lead to conflicts within family members due to the fact that issues will become subjective rather than objective. Moreover, family members might not have the required skills to be a manager or an employee which lead to mediocre business performance.And,,, lastly ideas may become stale and a fresh perspective might be difficult to find. In conclusion, any business type has its own pros and cons. family-owned businesses will thrive for long period, However family members should work extra hard to ensure that business issues will not turn into personal ones.