Computers are often argued to be the most important invention of the last hundred years. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

Nowadays almost any aspect of our lives is dominated by technology. Some voices state that computers are as important for us as electricity or vapour engines were for our ancestors. In this essay, I will give my opinion about the topic, and I will support it with some evidence. Firstly, although some may think the contrary, technology is present in any corner of our lives, since hardly any job can’t be imagined without the employment of digital media. The task of any worker has dramatically improved with the use of digital tools, and their performance is far more efficient and cost-reduced. Accounting or banking would be impossible without automated operations these days. Moreover, laptops play a fundamental role in our leisure time. For instance video games, tv streaming or just surfing on the web are amongst people’s favourite hobbies. On top of that, old fashioned ways of spending time, like reading a book or bird-watching have embraced happily the use of the internet: blogs devoted to the best trainspotting sites, pub-crawling recommendations… To summarize, computers are one of the inventions that best suit the modern world. And even the ones that long for the simple old days, must admit that their life has improved with the use of technology. And this trend will continue in the near future, according to experts. Miniaturization and the development of Artificial Intelligence will bring new ways of helping us in our everyday life.