Online education is becoming increasingly popular. many university students are choosing to study online instead of face to face. Do the advantages of distance education outweigh the disadvantages?

Distant learning has become more popular, especially during the covid-19 pandemic. While I accept that this would have several benefits, I believe that the drawbacks are outweighed. On the one hand, online education would certainly have three main advantages. Firstly, it would help the students and lecturers to save time commuting which may result in less anxiety and more energy during a course. For example, pupils might stick in traffic congestion for a while to reach the university which affects their mental health and concentration. Secondly, they can study in the top universities around the world without living in a foreign country. For instance, a person can get her or his degree from the universities such as Berkeley, MIT, Harvard, Stanford and so on while living in another country such as Iran, England, Australia etc. Finally, this type of education is likely to benefit shy or introverted students ' performance that avoids face-to-face communication. However, I would argue that these advantages outweigh the disadvantages. Distant education is likely to be not as efficient as face-to-face learning. In this case, the chance of distractions for both learners and professors would highly increase to the point that may negatively affect students ' productivity. Another drawback would be that people miss the opportunity of good communication with their peers or teachers, while universities are often good places to connect to others. At last, the result of online education would be doubtful because students can easily cheat on their exams without anyone noticing. In conclusion, it seems to me that the potential inefficiency of a distant learning system is more significant than the possible benefits.