In many countries, there is a debate about the effectiveness of using longer prison sentences to combat crime. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving longer prison sentences to criminals?

In recent years, the effectiveness of longer prison sentences as a method to reduce crime has become the discussion in most nations. While there are some clear benefits to this approach, there are also notable drawbacks. On the one hand, keeping prisoners behind bars may prevent the re-offending. Particularly, the most violent criminals should be in jail so that they do not harm society. Besides that, people will know the consequences that is about severe punishment if they commit crimes. For example, a rape case in 2019 in Uttar Pradesh. The victim had a complaint at the police station. The culprit was kept in jail for 6 months. Then, he was released on bail. Thereafter, he killed that girl. Therefore, such offenders should be in bars for extended periods for public safety. On the other hand, there are several disadvantages. First and foremost is for inmates who are not involved in big crimes. Those who just enrolled in breaking the laws, and rules or like pickpocketing should given a chance for reformation. In fact, rehabilitation programs as well as centers should made. Secondly, longer sentences place the financial burden on the government and also lead to crowds in jail. Consequently, proper sanitation, a good environment, and food are not provided efficiently. Additionally, when these criminals come outside after a long time interval, they hinder their integration into society. Hence, these convicts especially the non-violent offenders should not kept behind bars for longer. In conclusion, people who are involved in major crimes should given longer prison sentences for the sake of the community. However, social, financial, and ethical challenges occur. The governing body is required to develop reintegration strategies.