Many governments have laws that ban the sale and use of hard drugs like heroin and cocaine, yet they allow people to freely buy other more socially acceptable drugs like tobacco and alcohol. Laws that prohibit the sale and consumption of ‘hard’ drugs should be applied to other more widely tolerated drugs such as tobacco and alcohol. What is your opinion?

For years hard drugs like heroin has been viewed as illegal substances to be traded while tobacco and alcohol trading has been acceptable, but recently it is being said that the same law should be executed to ban these safer drugs either. It is noteworthy to bear in mind that these legal substances also can be dangerouse. However, I believe that they should not be illegal as long as the government has control over them. The following essay overlooks two rationales that support my opinion. First, although the harm that these two substances can cause should not be underestimated, they are clear and treatable. However, the consequences of using hard drugs including physical dependence are more challengable to deal with. For example, the effect that heroin can cause for brain is irreversible while the cigarette's negative effects can be prevented by education. In addition, the means of using hard drugs are more prone to transmit infections, whereas tobacco and alcohol do not suffer from this disadvantage. Second, imposing rules against these soft substances might move their trading to the undergrand undergrad. Consequently, the quality of them decrease and even some fatal components might be added to them. For instance, a great number of people are dying by consuming metanol instead of ethanol in the countries where the alcohol is forbidden. Their counsumption will prevail; hence, the public saftey will not preserve unless the government have the close control on their mediums instead of illegalize them. To sum up, I believe imposing the same rules on soft drugs as hard ones to ban their consumption will not contribute to the public saftey. On the contrary, it will increase the chance of harm. Moreover, as these products are less harmful, they can be used with a close monitoring.