Nowadays, young people communicate with friends and family mostly through social networking sites, rather than other ways of communication like talking on the phone or face to face. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

It is apparent that the communication between teenagers and their friends and family members by using social network such as Facebook, Instagram and Twitter instead of interaction in person have increased these days. In my opinion, although social media connects teens to friends and family in positive ways, there is a number of negative effects of social media on communication. On the one hand, social media plays an important role in the establishment of teens ' friendships and family relationships. In other words, it is a critical platform for making and staying in touch with friends and family. In this way, young people can keep a close relationship with family and friends. Moreover, social media not only connects teens to information, family and friends but also connects them to opportunities for social support from their friends, family and broader social networks. For example, a recent study shows that 68% of teens have received support on social media during challenges or tough times. As a result, young people enjoy the way social media better connects them to more people. On the other hand, it is undeniable that these technologies can also cause negative influences such as isolating people and discouraging real interaction between people. Additionally, excessive use of the internet and social networking sites may limit proper interpersonal skill development. They affect users’ interpersonal communication skills and relationships. For instance, a study found that the internet contributed to social alienation. Regular Internet users attended fewer social events and spent less time with friends and family.The more time user spent online, the less time user spent with authentic relationships. This can cause a problem in their relationships. In conclusion, with many benefits of social networking sites present, there is a number of negative impacts as well. Virtual interactions can be very beneficial for users to connect with each other and they can help maintain their relationships. While social networking sites can be used depending on the time and place.