Today family members eat fewer meals together. Why is this? Is this a positive or negative trend?

In the contemporary world of technology, people are spending very less family time together at the dining table. This essay will explain why this is happening and then I will give my own opinion that why this is a negative development. One of the most telling reasons why people eat fewer meals together is because life has changed due to rampantly increasing technology. To elaborate this, now these days everyone has access to mobile phones and individuals spend most of their time on the internet watching movies and playing games. Therefore, they eat in their rooms instead of together with family. Furthermore, homes have turned into offices because of 24 hours access to mobile phones and because of that people do not have enough time to sit together for a family meal. For example, after work majority of people spend time in their rooms because of work or entertainment commitments. However, this is a totally negative development as it leads to isolation and eventually makes people depressed. In other words, the time when family eat together is the only time to talk to each other and share their daily routine and if one family member is having an issue in any form in his daily life, others can help. However, this is only possible if people eat together especially one meal in a day. Hence, if people are not eating together it means they are less socialising which could have an adverse effect on their health. In conclusion, because of rapidly increasing technology people simply do not have enough time to spend with family members at the dining table. In my opinion, because of this people are having negative effects on their health due to less socialising.