Many young people choose to take a year out between finishing school and starting university in order to gain work experience or to travel. The experience of non-academic life this offers benefits the individual when they return to education. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that nowadays there are some youths who decide to take a gap year between their school and university studies to travel around or work somewhere. In my opinion, there is no hesitation that living those types of experiences has a positive impact and will benefit them while coming back to education life. On one hand, gaining some work experience before going to university can make a difference as will undoubtedly broaden your mind thus having a wider perspective when making decisions. Moreover, the possibility to meet new people and either improve or learn new skills is absolutely open-up within this scenario. For example, the fact of going to work on a farm will push the individual into the countryside lifestyle where values such as discipline, respect and effort are essential. As a consequence, it is simply true that a need to thrive and keep forward to better adapt yourself to the unknown environment will urge. On the other hand, in my view, travelling abroad certainly enhance creativity and creates different neural pathways. By visiting different countries, a wide range of cultural information can be provided, hence gaining educational knowledge which will induce new brain connections. For instance, visiting another country and meeting someone who brings us closer to local food and nutrition, could potentially unblock our aim to discover more tastes and nutritional properties. Overall, all these experiences may be really practical to acknowledge your current interests. To conclude, I think coming to a decision on how the future should be managed by the age of eighteen might be quite tough. This is why while finishing school many people feel very lost as they do not know what studies fit them better and consequently end up choosing something in which they are not really interested. Being aware of the existence of these other possibilities can be helpful for clarifying ideas.