Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being sellf-employed?

It is true that the popularity of self-employment has been increased. In my opinion, the desire for a high quality of life and more independence could be the main reasons for this trend. However, if the majority of a nation decide to be self-employed, governments and people will face some economic problems. Many people prefer to establish their own carrier instead of being an employee nowadays. The main reason for this could be that they want more salaries and freedom. There are people who prefer to work from home, especially if they have toddlers. For example, a company may not accept maternal leave after a period of time while a mother would need more time at home. Another reason would be having a new idea. Young people might have some ideas to make money that leads them to work independently rather than in a company. However, many numbers of self-employment would cause pecuniary troubles for a country. Firstly, big companies need employees to remain big while self-employment would result in many numbers of small businesses and there would be no skilful employees. For instance, if all graphic designers work for themselves, there would be no one to work in the department of advertisement in businesses such as Google or Amazon. Secondly, people cannot count on their wages as Freelancers. There may be times that they earn $10,000 a month, for example, and also times without any money. In conclusion, it seems to me that the increasing trend of self-employment has several reasons but the drawbacks of that are serious.