Under British and Australian laws a jury in a criminal case has no access to information about the defendant's past criminal record. This protects the person who is being accused of the crime. Some lawyers have suggested that this practice should be changed and that a jury should be given all the past facts before they reach their decision about the case. Do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, the development of laws have become increasingly exposed and several people make criticisms of this innovation. While British and Australian laws and regulations have claimed that there is no right to access a defendant's criminal history, other lawyers had opinions that the jury should be given before the result about the case will be made. I strongly disagree that past criminal records need to be discovered and I will explain the reasons in the following paragraphs. To begin with, there are clearly reasons why the information about the defendant ’s history should not be shown. People should not judge others by their past because it can not be a proof to make a decision in the present. For example, a study by Oxford University found that 80% of defendants in the UK committed crime because of any factors in life such as economy, revenge, and personal problems. In addition, jury should be made for the present case and it can be more calculative to the result rather than define the history of defendants. Furthermore, since lawyers had this idea to reach the defendant's past history in order to have a more valuable result of the case, there is a misconception about this statement. For example, a study from Warwick University, more than 60% of criminal records in the UK and Australia found their decision to the defendant based on the current investigation and it was not influenced by the defendant's past life activities such as job, hobbies, or even family issues. In conclusion, a defendant past criminal records or history should not be the main source to support final judgement. To get the better result of someone case, it is better to make observations about the current situation, to make it clear.