Nowadays, people waste a lot of food that was bought from shops and restaurants. Why do you think people waste food? What can be done to reduce the amount of food they throw away?

In recent times, food is still lightly valued in some parts of the world. However, in urban areas, particularly in the developed world, food waste is becoming a major concern. This essay will discuss the causes of this problem and suggestions on how people can curb the amount of food thrown away. Two main factors are behind the rise in food wastage. The first is the rising incomes of the population which meant higher disposable incomes. In other words, 50 years ago, for instance, an average family has about #100 per month to spend on feeding and entertainment but recently, the same family can spend nothing less than #100, 000 and so the idea of buying something and not consuming it is unremarkable. The second factor, linked with the first, however, is the modern throw-away habit in which all products are treated as disposables. Generally, it is uncommon to find valuable households such as; silver and gold, dinnerware and so on being thrown in the bin. In the same way, it is also unsurprising to see half the family groceries trashed without concern. Tackling this issue involves altering the mindset of society. In this case, it can be done by creating a public-awareness campaign. For instance, NRDC launched Save The Food campaign as an open-source that is, public education on the impact of household food waste and helps consumers with the tools to prevent food from going into waste at home. In brief, we cannot adequately address food waste without changing consumers' attitudes and behaviours towards food on a societal scale. Besides, the drivers of food are rooted in good intentions and long-held habits. Hence, efforts with continuity will be the most successful in order to cut down on food waste.