The development o f tourism contributed to English becoming the most prominent language in the world. Some people think this will lead to English becoming the only language to be spoken globally. What are the advantages and disadvantages to having one language in the world?

The globe of the world consists of 216 countries and hundreds of spoken languages. Nevertheless, English is known as the most popular language around the world. It naturally becomes a mother of language amongst others because it uses in developed and developing countries. However, the advantage of English has become a global language has threatened many other countries which don't speak English on a daily basis. This essay aims to explore this argument with a few explanations. In recent times, tourism is an essential method to spread languages across the world. A sense of curiosity about speaking other languages has become one of the most important goals for expanding tourism. Speaking other languages can help individuals to communicate with foreigners easily whenever they come to part of the world. Based on research conducted by scholars in Harvard, English is the most prominent language in the world and it is already established many decades ago and is a fact to say that English could possibly become the world's identity. For the aforementioned point above, that is one of the positives of English which become a king of languages in the world. Another positive is, English has taken place in many countries as a material that people need to improve. In every country, schools always provide English as a major, subject or course that students need to polish. In Indonesia, for example, English has become a subject of national exams at the primary level even until the tertiary level. On the other hand, some people believe that English could erase other languages which is implies could eliminate the purity of the country. Many languages that the world has will slowly become decreases of because the huge existence of English. Therefore, the national language will only history that people can listen not to understand. In addition, because of the trend of English, it will limit locals' acts in order to continue the past hero to defend countries ' nationality. Cultures will be acculturated in others. It might be affected by the crisis of cultures. To conclude, having one language in the world is not recommended for societies' sake. The countries around the world should keep their identity and still have English as their guidance for tourism without eliminating cultures.