Some people believe that violent media directly results in violent behavior. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The fact that violent movies, series and games have become more popular is the target of criticism, as many argue it influences the ones who watch or play it to become more aggressive. I totally disagree, because most people who like this type of content are not violent and usually the violence is used with a purpose inside the story. One of the main reasons why I believe media does not have such a strong power over people is due to the principles each one builds throughout life. Thus, it is not so easy to influence someone to become violent, as it has been proven that most people who enjoy watching violent movies and series, never commit a violent crime. For instance, a series that became a worldwide success was "Game of Thrones", which contained a lot of violent scenes, and most fans were ordinary people. Another key reason is that most of the times violence has a purpose inside the plot, because many people do not enjoy pure and meaningless violence. Normally, the high level of action makes people feel more involved in the story, for example, a series about revenge or injustice encourages people to watch until the end in order to see the good defeating the evil. In conclusion, from my perspective violent content definitely cannot induce someone to act in a violent way, as people already carry values that are not easily changed. Besides, in my opinion, generally there is a meaning behind violent scenes, that is both to keep our attention high and send a message in the end. Nevertheless, if someone already has violent behaviour, this kind of content may be harmful and the best is to seek professional help.