In some societies, the number of crimes committed by teenagers is growing. Some people think that regardless of age, teenagers who commit major crimes should receive adult punishment. To what extent do you agree?

Nowadays, juvenile crimes have been increasing dramatically while the penalties for minor criminals are far less severe than those of adults. Therefore, many people believe that teenagers who commit serious crimes should be punished as adults. I completely concur with the position that teenagers who commit serious crimes should be judged equally like everyone else for it may establish warning by setting good examples in the society and serve ultimate justice for those who have suffered from the crime. To begin with, the most obvious reason for agreeing with this is that serious punishment for grave crime may separate those criminals from other milder offenders. Cruel and harmful crimes such as murder, terrorism, child molestation, and rape should be harshly punished even if they are executed by teenagers. They should be judged and punished like an adult. As a result, this harsh punishment may set an example warning not only the young criminals but also other teenagers with the potential thoughts of committing a similar crime. For instance, there is an analytical report saying that sentencing a teenager as an adult will significantly cast a warning effect upon others and reduce the crime rate. Furthermore, an appropriate and balanced punishment is necessary since most families of the victims who have lost their loved ones may hope that the criminals are treated fairly. Having the sentence difference due to the ages induces controversy for it does not serve the ultimate justice that the victims deserve. All in all, based on the arguments above, I strongly believe that serious crimes should be harshly punished even though the criminals are juveniles or adults.