Many teenagers now have their own Smart phone. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this and give your own opinion.

The popularity of smartphones among young adults has been increasing in recent years. While I agree that there may be a few drawbacks to this trend, I believe that the benefits might outweigh them. There would be two main disadvantages of having a personal mobile phone for adolescents. Firstly, there are many amounts of inappropriate or even dangerous content on the internet which would affect their attitudes or in the worst case their life path. Parental control is likely to be decreased because teenagers would access the internet everywhere through their phones. For example, a Youngster may watch a video on YouTube that teach them how to make a bump and they perhaps try that out of the curiosity and injure themselves and others. Secondly, the risk of stealing the information would increase through the internet and hackers can easily access their photos and videos which could result in bribery. However, I think there are more advantages of the above-mentioned disadvantages of this trend. Teenagers can make a quality connection with their friends through their smartphones. They can easily text each other or have a video call through applications such as WhatsApp, Skype or Telegram. They also can share their photos and memories and Instagram. Another benefit could be the potential learning of different skills such as a new language by Duolingo. In addition, they can take photos or make videos with their smartphones and learn to make them professional. For instance, if an adolescent desired to learn photography but did not have a digital camera, she could start with her mobile phone camera and practice the basic rules of this skill. In conclusion, there are both advantages and disadvantages of teenagers having their own phone, while it seems to me that benefits would outweigh the possible harms.