Some people believe that government should take care of old people and provide financial support after they retire. Others say individual should save during their working years to fund their own retirement. What is your opinion? Give reasons for your answer

Some schools of thought have argued that the governing body should fend for the aged population who had served the nation in their capacity when they were young and active, while others believe that these retirees should have prepared for their retirement by building up savings during their service years. This essay agree with the former view, that the old retired citizens should by supported financially by the government rather than being left to rely on their savings when they are no longer in service. The essay will argue that these aged and dependent population are less active to take care of themselves, and that they are entitled to being rewarded by the system which they had actively contributed. It will also argue that social welfare package, like financial support when given to them, will make them have a sense of belonging. To start with, these individuals who had served the system in their active years are justified to be rewarded by giving them financial support at the time they are retrenched from duties. This is because, at this period of their lifetimes, they are unable to work rigorously or actively like before, and as such may not be able to cater for their needs any longer. Therefore, it is just a matter of fairness on the part of the government, to compensate them, by giving them financial aids; a form of social welfare package, to enable them have quality lives. For example, by the time they retired, their income source drop dramatically, and some of them may have mounting mountains of challenges to cater for. Thus, if they are not giving assistance, they may become impoverished. Furthermore, when the government gives them necessary support financially, they will not feel neglected or abandoned. By this means, they are able to develop sense of belonging. For instance, a growing body of knowledge has shown that at this stage of life, when they retire from active service, many of them succumb to psychological depression and this can impair the quality of their lives significantly. Thus, assisting them financially only help to improve their psychological well-being. Although, encouraging them to save actively during the service years, help them to develop the culture of saving for the rainy days, they should not be left entirely dependent on these meagre savings for survival at this stage of life. To conclude, I believe it is morally justified, if government plan for these special group of people in their welfare package, as they had actively contributed to the societal development in their working years.