Computers are being used more and more in education. Some people say that this is a positive trend, while others argue that it is leading to negative consequences. Discuss both sides of this argument and than give your own opinion.

Teaching and learning these days employ the incessant use of gadgets. While some people talk about it in a positive light, others, however,disagree claiming that this method of education has adverse outcomes. This essay will examine both points of view and also explain in my opinion, why I believe the latter idea is worth supporting than the former. On the one hand, supporters of technology usage for schooling have some well-founded reasons. Firstly it helps learners to master their technological skills early on. This is due to the fact that, when technology literacy is introduced at a young age to students, they can easily grasp its workings and processes, this, in turn, builds a solid foundation for future purposes. Thus, helping to create new generations of computer literate workers. Take, for example, most research on school children who had the opportunity of learning the mechanics of operating technological devices at a tender age, showed that they grew up to become proficient secretaries, supervisors and office managers. Secondly, using the internet helps to make learning more interesting, students will be able to access more knowledge and a wider range of subjects very quickly. The reason is that gadgets provide colourful backgrounds and broad encyclopedias, which makes searching for new words, ideas and solving arithmetics more alluring. Thus, this will help garner the interests of pupils and teachers alike leading to improved educational systems. On the other hand, using computers to aid learning has its downsides. One major reason is the high cost of setting up a technological-based teaching and learning environment. This is because, to purchase good and scientifically sound computers are not cheap, and also tutors need to go through extensive training to develop them into adept computer teachers, annual or monthly internet fees are not to be forgotten too as they add to the total amount spent. Thus, leading to increased expenses for learning. Another important point is that due to the inquisitive nature of learners they are usually intrigued by the large array of possible new topics they can Google on their computers and this causes distraction from the curriculum they are supposed to be focused on. Also, it exposes them to harmful subjects like pornography, violent movies and music videos, therefore the aim of education and learning is forgotten. In addition, more automation equals fewer physical lecturers, as more online learning is taking place, teachers are less required because most lessons are self-explanatory. Subsequent, leading to an increased unemployment rate among professional tutors. To conclude, while there are diverse views supporting and opposing the use of gadgets as a mode of educating trainees, in my point of view, I believe that technology usage is a negative evolution because it reduces the employment of tutors and increases the exposure of learners to unsavoury online materials. Consequently, Ministers of education and all authorities involved should be enlightened on the disadvantages of computer usage for learning, so this trend can be stopped before it causes more harm to society at large.